Skip to Content



Least concern conservation status

Scientific Classification

Binomial nameCanis Lupus

Range Map

Range of species in blue


The gray wolf is a social canine that lives in the northern part of North America, most of Asia and the Western part of Western Europe. Their colors of the gray wolf vary a lot depending on their geographical location.

They can be gray, brown, black, tan, or white. However, the predominant color seems to be gray.

The underbody is usually lighter, or sometimes even white. It measures from 1.05 to 1.60 m and weighs from 12 to 79.4 kg.

This carnivore eats deer, beavers, boar, mountain goats, bison, elk, moose, birds, fish, rodents, and hares. It lives in a great variety of habitats, which include: mountains, grasslands, forests, tundra, and deserts.

Their lifespan is 6 to 13 years in the wild and 17 years in captivity.


Gray Wolf – A Complete Guide

101 Facts About Wolves

What Types of Wolves are there in North America?

Evolution Of The Wolf

What Is The Difference Between a Coyote and a Wolf?

Have Wolves Been In My Yard?

Why Do Wolves Howl?

What Do Wolves Eat?

How Do Wolves Communicate?